On Happiness

What is happiness? Is it what you’ll achieve with peace of heart? Or is it contentment? Or fulfillment? Companionship?

Or is it simply the lack of sadness?

One man’s trash is another man’s treasure. One man’s joy is another man’s sorrow. That is just the way the world works. Simply put, even if you and I are in the same conditions, I can be happy, but you sad. No, don’t let them fool you — this is not perception, this is unfairness.

The world is unfair. Life itself is unfair. How do you find joy in an unfair world then? Spiritual contentment? Enlightenment? Some summarize their key in one line: be content with what you have.

“Well then,” I say, “what if you have nothing to be content about?”

“Pessimism!” I hear you yell.

But isn’t the pessimist’s approach to life a far more realistic one? Never assume things will go your way; that way if something is successful, it’s a gift. You are never disappointed, because to be disappointed you need to have expectations. And pessimists don’t have expectations.

Oh wait, that is it you say? A life without expectations is a life full of sadness?

So, a life without expectations will result in sadness. A life with expectations will too result in sadness. What then is this thing you call happiness?

Tell me, I really want to know.

And if you manage to find it, do you mind showing it to me? I want to see what it looks like.

1 thought on “On Happiness

Leave a comment